首页 / 文章发布 / 君合法评 / 君合法评详情

《外商投资证券公司管理办法》征求意见

2018.03.15 谢青 卢秉 秦天宇

2018年3月9日,中国证监会发布了《外商投资证券公司管理办法》征求意见稿(“《办法》”),标志着2017年11月中美元首会晤期间中方承诺(“承诺”)的证券业开放有了明确的细则意见。根据承诺,单个或多个外国投资者直接或间接投资证券公司的投资比例限制放宽至51%,并将于上述措施实施三年后不限制投资比例。《办法》对现有规定的修改主要是为了落实上述承诺。以下我们总结了外国投资者可能关心的主要修改内容。


1、放宽外资股比、内资股东及业务范围的限制


《办法》将外资持有证券公司的股权比例上限由不得超过49%1修改为不得超过“我国证券业对外开放所作的承诺(目前为51%)”。在新设中外合资证券公司的情形下,外资直接或间接持股的比例原则上累计不低于25%,内资证券公司依法变更为外商投资证券公司的,不受该比例的限制。


除上述股权比例限制的修改外,正如证监会在同日公布的《关于<外商投资证券公司管理办法>的起草说明》所解释的,《办法》从合资中方条件和经营范围两个角度取消现有的限制,是考虑到“外资持股比例和业务范围的双重限制容易引发中外股东对合资证券公司的战略定位、展业模式和经营管理等方面的分歧和矛盾”。由此,《办法》取消了合资中方必须是内资证券公司的限制,即外国投资者可以选择与非金融机构进行合资;同时,取消了对业务范围的限制,但新增了“初始业务范围应与控股股东、第一大股东的经营证券业务经验相匹配”的要求。


《证券法》第125条列举了证券公司可经营的六项业务,即证券经纪、证券投资咨询、与证券交易、证券投资活动有关的财务顾问、证券承销与保荐、证券自营和证券资产管理。根据目前的监管规定,证券公司设立时原则上可申请四项业务范围,设立一年以后可以申请增加业务范围,每一次申请增加的业务范围不得超过两项。根据《办法》,外商投资证券公司的业务范围比内资证券公司多一项要求,即“初始业务范围与控股股东、第一大股东的经营证券业务经验相匹配”,我们建议外国投资者在新设证券公司时应考虑结合其具体情况确定有关业务范围申请的策略。


2、严格境外股东的准入条件


《办法》对境外股东的要求基本属于金融审慎要求的范围,其中,《办法》一方面将境外股东“至少有1名是金融机构”修改为“均应为金融机构”;另一方面,将对境外股东“具有良好的声誉和经营业绩”的要求细化为“具有良好的国际声誉和经营业绩,近3年业务规模、收入、利润居于国际前列,近3年长期信用均保持在高水平”,且需就此提供相应证明文件,体现了监管机构对外资准入证券行业的审慎态度。前述对境外股东的要求适用新设和通过收购设立外商投资证券公司的情形。


3、放宽外资持股上市证券公司的股比限制


《办法》将全部境外投资者持有上市证券公司股份的比例上限从25%提高到“不得超过我国证券业对外开放所作的承诺(目前为51%)”,对单个境外投资者持有上市证券公司股份的比例上限从20%提高到30%。


4、内资证券公司因控股股东变更导致外资间接持股亦受监管


针对监管实践出现新的情况,即“部分内资证券公司股东的实际控制人身份变更(由中国籍变更为外籍),导致境外投资者间接持有内资证券公司股权”,《办法》将上述情形纳入外商投资证券公司的范围,明确了变更所需提交的审批文件要求,并要求该类境外投资者应当限期符合《办法》规定的境外股东条件。结合最近颁布的《商业银行股权管理暂行办法》和《保险公司股权管理办法》中有关对商业银行和保险公司的股权必须进行穿透式监管的规定,由此看出,穿透式监管原则将作为一项基本监管原则体现在各类金融机构股权管理的监管规定中。


《办法》征求意见截止时间为2018年4月8日。我们预计,在此之后,正式规定会很快落地,《外商投资产业指导目录》也会做相应修改。我们建议有意向在中国境内新设或增持证券公司的外资巨头们尽早做好规划及相应准备。



1. 2017版《外商投资产业指导目录》将证券公司列为限制类,并规定外商投资证券公司必须由中方控股,且其业务范围设立时限于从事人民币普通股、外资股和政府债券、公司债券的承销与保荐,外资股的经纪,政府债券、公司债券的经纪和自营;设立满2年后符合条件的公司可申请扩大业务范围。

Home / Publications / JunHe Legal Updates / details of junhe law review

Client Briefing – Administrative Measures for Foreign-Invested Securities Companies Issued for Public Comments

2018.03.15 XIE, Qing (Natasha)、LU, Bing、QIN, Tianyu

On March 9, 2018, the China Securities Regulatory Commission (“CSRC”) issued the Administrative Measures for Foreign-invested Securities Companies (Consultation Paper) (“Measures”), indicating that China’s commitment to opening up the securities industry, which it made at the summit of the Chinese and US heads of state in November 2017, is in the process of being turned into defined rules of implementation. According to China’s commitment, the foreign ownership upper limit in a securities company, whether held directly or indirectly, and on a single entity or aggregated basis, will be increased to 51%. Moreover, three years after the above measures have been implemented, any remaining limit on foreign ownership will be removed. The proposed amendments to the existing rules included in the Measures are primarily intended to honor such commitment. Below we have summarized the key amendments that may be of concern to foreign investors. 


1. Relaxing Restrictions on Foreign Ownership, Domestic Shareholder and the Scope of Business


One of the changes introduced by the Measures is that the upper limit on foreign shareholding in a foreign-invested securities company is increased from 49%  to “being subject to China’s commitments relating to the opening up of the securities industry (currently 51%)”. For a newly established Sino-foreign joint venture securities company (“Securities JV”), the direct and indirect foreign shareholding in such a Securities JV shall in principle be not less than 25%, while a domestically-owned securities company that is changing into a foreign-invested securities company will not be subject to such limit. 


In addition to the above modifications, the corresponding Drafting Statement of the Measures released by the CSRC on the same day explains that the Measures remove the existing restrictions on the domestic shareholder and the scope of business of a foreign-invested securities company, after taking into consideration the “divergences and contradictions between Chinese and foreign shareholders relating to the Securities JV’s strategic positioning, business model and operational management, which may arise from the dual restrictions on the foreign shareholding and the scope of business of Securities JVs.” Hence, the Measures remove the restriction to require a Securities JV’s domestic shareholder to be a securities firm: in other words, a foreign investor may choose to incorporate a Securities JV with a non-financial institution. The Measures also remove the limits on the scope of business of a Securities JV, but add such a new requirement that “the initial scope of business of a Securities JV shall match the securities business experience of its controlling shareholder or the largest shareholder.”


Article 125 of the PRC Securities Law sets forth the six types of business that may be undertaken by a securities company, namely (i) securities brokerage, (ii) securities investment advisory, (iii) financial advisory services relating to the activities of securities trading or securities investment, (iv) underwriting and sponsoring the issuance of securities, (v) proprietary securities trading, and (vi) securities asset management. According to the current regulatory provisions, a securities company when being established may in principle apply to operate four types of business, and may apply to expand the scope of business one year thereafter, with the limitation of adding two types of business for each application. Under the Measures, the business scope of a foreign-invested securities company is subject to one requirement more than that of a domestically-owned securities company, namely that “the initial scope of business of a Securities JV shall match the securities business operation experience of its controlling shareholder or the largest shareholder.” We suggest that when newly establishing a securities company, foreign investors should consider their specific situation prior to determining the strategy they intend to take for the application of scope of business. 


2. Strict Market Access Conditions for Foreign Shareholders


The relevant requirements proposed by the Measures for foreign shareholders fall within the scope of “prudential requirement for financial business.” Specifically, the Measures change the requirement that “there must be at least one financial institution” among all foreign shareholders to that “all foreign shareholders must be financial institutions.” At the same time, the Measures change the requirement on foreign shareholders from “having a good reputation and business performance” to that of “having a good international reputation and business performance, having the scale of business, revenue and profits which for the past three years shall have been ranked at the top international level, and long-term credit shall have remained at a high level for the past three years”, and requires foreign shareholders to provide relevant documentation, demonstrating the regulatory institution’s prudent attitude to foreign investor’s access to the securities industry. The requirements for foreign shareholders stipulated in this paragraph apply to both newly established foreign-invested securities company and those converted by acquisition. 


3. Relaxing Restrictions on Foreign Ownership in Listed Securities Companies


The Measures increase the upper limit on the shareholding of all foreign investors in a listed securities company from 25% to “being subject to China’s commitments relating to the opening up of the securities industry (currently 51%)”, and increase the upper limit on the shareholding of an individual foreign investor in a listed securities company from 20% to 30%.


4. A Domestically-Owned Securities Company Indirectly Invested by Foreign Investors Due to Change of Its Controlling Shareholder Will Also Be Subject to Regulation


In order to address a new situation faced in regulatory practice, whereby “some de facto controllers of domestically-owned securities companies have changed their identities (from Chinese to foreign nationality), thereby causing the relevant securities companies to be indirectly owned by foreign investors”, the Measures deal with this type of situation as an incorporation of a foreign-invested securities company, and so specify requirements on the relevant documents to be submitted for approval on such change, and require such type of foreign investors to meet the relevant conditions for foreign shareholders under the Measures within a prescribed time period. Given the recently issued provisions provided in the Interim Measures for Administration of Equity in Commercial Banks and the Measures for Administration of Equity in Insurance Companies that require conducting “penetrating regulation” on the administration of equities in commercial banks or insurance companies, it appears that the principle of “penetrating regulation”, as one of the fundamental regulatory principles, will be adopted in the equity administration of all types of financial institutions. 


The cut-off time for soliciting comments for the Measures is April 8, 2018. We anticipate that the formal measures will be enacted very soon thereafter, and that the Catalogue for the Guidance of Foreign Investment Industries will also be amended accordingly. Foreign magnates intending to set up a new securities company or increase a shareholding in an existing Securities JV are advised to make appropriate plans and be well prepared as early as possible for these anticipated changes. 



1. The Catalogue for the Guidance of Foreign Investment Industries (Revised in 2017) lists the securities company as a restricted foreign investment industry, and requires the Chinese party/ies to hold a majority of shares in a foreign-invested securities company, of which the scope of businesses upon establishment shall be limited to underwriting and sponsorship of ordinary RMB-denominated stocks, foreign stocks, treasury bonds and corporate bonds, brokerage of foreign stocks, and brokerage and proprietary trading of government bonds and corporate bonds, which may be expanded upon approval two years after the company’s establishment, if it satisfies the relevant conditions.

JunHe is the only Chinese law firm to be admitted as a member of Lex Mundi and Multilaw, two international networks of independent law firms. JunHe and selected top law firms in major European and Asian jurisdictions are “best friends.” Through these connections, we provide high quality legal services to clients doing business throughout the world.